06.10.2019 - [NCKS]

Mulvane, KS – On Sunday, June 9, The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Kansas Chapter hosted their 10th Annual Induction Banquet at the Kansas Star Arena.  Former Trojan star Matt Treaster was one of five honorees in the Class of 2019.  During his time at BHS, he captured four individual wrestling championships while leading his team to four consecutive team titles. 

Treaster, currently of Newton, KS was honored for his many years of service to the sport including his time on the mat at Beloit and the United States Naval Academy.  While at the Academy, he became an All-American his senior season with a 5th place finish at the NCAA Division I National Championships.  

After graduation from the Naval Academy, Treaster served his country as a Naval Fighter Pilot.  Following his service in the Navy, he completed his law degree at the University of Kansas.  He now serves his country as an Assistant U.S. Attorney.

For the better part of two decades, Treaster has served the community of Newton as a coach and director of the Newton Wrestling Club.  Matt continues to give back to wrestling in his role as the Folkstyle Director for USA Wrestling-Kansas. Matt has also served as an assistant high school coach at Cox High School Virginia as well as Chaparral High School, Spring Hill High School, and Newton High School in Kansas.

Prior to his enshrinement in the NWHOF-Kansas Chapter, Treaster was inducted into the Kansas Wrestling Coaches Association's Hall of Fame (Located on the Campus of FHSU) Class of 1998 as an athlete.

NWHOF-Kansas Class of 2019:
Kirk Baker, Hoxie
Brad Clark, Olathe
Roy Oeser, Wichita
Kenny Schmidt, Wichita
Matt Treaster, Newton

The NWHOF-Kansas Chapter ( is a division of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame and Museum which is located on the campus of Oklahoma State University in Stillwater, OK.  Each honoree will be enshrined on location including their photograph and bio. The Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame and Museum established the State Chapter program in 1993. The purpose is to pay tribute to those coaches, officials and contributors who represent the best qualities of what the sport of wrestling has to offer and who share those characteristics with young people day in and day out.