10.10.2019 - [NCKS]

As reported in June, the Russell Board of Education approved a move for high school sports and activities to the Mid-Continent League.  In turn, the move had to be approved by the members of the MCL.  KRSL Radio in Russell is reporting that the MCL Executive Board has approved Russell to join the league starting in the 2020-21 school year.

Russell will become the 12th member of the MCL, joining Ellis, Hill City, Norton, Oakley, Philipsburg, Plainville, Smith Center, TMP-Marian, Trego and Hoxie, who will also join the MCL starting in 2020-21.

Russell AD Scott Nuss told KRSL that they are excited to join the MCL and cited that playing many schools also on I-70 as one of the biggest draws of joining the league.

Russell will now travel west for most of their events instead of going east to NCAA locations.  The NCAA will now have just six schools as of now with Beloit, Ellsworth, Minneapolis, Republic County, Sacred Heart and Southeast of Saline.  It was reported in June that the NCAA will consider all of their options on possibly adding a school to replace Russell.